Scientific Committee

The purpose of the Macula & Genoma Foundation is to bring together experts from different subspecialties in Ophthalmology, all animated by the common desire of preventing and reversing blindness. The Scientific Committee of the Macula & Genoma Foundation can count on the expertise of some of the most renown and qualified scientists in the field, with the aim to facilitate and accelerate as much as possible the application of a model of “translational medicine” in Ophthalmology. The Scientific Committee supports the Macula & Genoma Foundation in identifying original, groundbreaking projects of research that have the potential to be translated into pioneering clinical research with aims that are in line with the Foundation’s primary mission of “reversing blindness”.

Radha Ayyagari

Professor of Ophtalmology and Pathology Viterbi Family Endowed Chair Director, Shiley Eye Institute, San Diego, USA

University of California, San Diego, USA

Benedetto Falsini

Associate Professor at the Institute of Ophthalmology Università Cattolica S. Cuore, Fondazione Policlinico Universitario A. Gemelli, Rome, Italy

Fondazione Policlinico A. Gemelli, Rome, Italy

Napoleone Ferrara

Professor of Ophthalmology and Pathology Senior Deputy Director for Basic Sciences, UCSD Moores Cancer Center Ben, Wanda Hildyard Chair for Diseases of the Eye

University of California, San Diego, USA

Emiliano Giardina

Director of Laboratory Medicine and Genomics (UILDM), Santa Lucia Foundation, the University of Tor Vergata, Rome, Italy

Santa Lucia,
Rome, Italy

Aniz Girach

Chief Medical Officer of ProQR Therapeutics, Leiden, Netherlands

ProQR Therapeutics,
Leiden, Netherlands

Michael Gorin

Chief of The Retinal Disorder and Opthalmic Genetics Division at the David Geffen School of Medicine UCLA and Jules Stein Eye Institute Los Angeles.

Jules Stein
Eye Institute
Los Angeles, USA

Chunhui Jiang

Vice Director of the Ophthalmology Department of Eye & ENT Hospital of Fudan University, Shanghai, China

Fudan University, Shanghai, China

Henry Klassen

Professor and Director, Stem Cell & Retinal Regeneration Program, Ophthalmology School of Medicine UC Irvine, USA

UCI, Irvine, California, USA

Richard Kramer

CH and Annie Li Chair in Molecular Biology of Diseases and Professor of Neurobiology at the University of California, Berkeley, USA

Berkeley University of California, USA

Yossi Mandel

Associate Professor at Bar-Ilan University. Head, Ophthalmic Science and Engineering Lab, Israel

Bar-Ilan University, Tel Aviv, Israel

John Marshall

Frost Professor of Ophthalmology, Institute of Ophthalmology, London
Moorefields Eye Hospital and University College, London

Moorfields Eye Hospital and University College, London, UK

Mahi Muqit

Vitreo-retinal Consultant, Moorfields Eye Hospital, London

Moorfields Eye Hospital and University College, London, UK

Daniel Palanker

Professor, Department of Ophthalmology and Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory, Stanford University

Stanford University, California, USA

Serge Picaud

INERM, Institut National de la Santè et de la Recherche Médicale, Paris

Institut National de la Santé et de la Rècherche Médicale, Paris, France

Paul Sieving

Former Director National Eye Institute, priorly Founding Director Center for Retinal and Macular Degeneration at the Department of Ophthalmology and visual science.

UC Davis, Sacramento, California, USA

Marco A. Zarbin

Chair of the Institute of Ophthalmology and VisualScience at New Jersey Medical School. Chief of Ophthalmology at the University Hospital in Newark.

Rutgers-New Jersey Medical School, USA

Jiayi Zhang

Vice Director of State Key Laboratory for Neurobiology, Assistant Dean of Institute of Brain Science, Fudan University, Shanghai, China

Fudan University, Shanghai, China